Yukon legislative assembly members are elected for four-year terms. The assembly usually meets twice a year in Whitehorse.

Northwest Territories. The Northwest Territories Act (RSC 1970, c.N-22) provides for an executive, legislative and judicial structure. The commissioner is the chief executive officer, appointed by the federal government and responsible for the administration of Northwest Territories under the direction of the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada. The commissioner spends funds voted by the legislative assembly and all new revenue measures are subject to assembly approval. Normally the commissioner obtains federal approval of proposed legislation and budgetary measures before submitting them to council.

The legislative assembly of the Northwest Territories has legislative powers similar to those of a provincial legislature. The Northwest Territories Act gives the assembly authority to legislate in most areas of government activity except for natural resources other than game, forestry and fire suppression; these are reserved to the federal government. Legislation must receive three readings and have the assent of the commissioner. The federal government may disallow any act within one year.

The legislative assembly consists of 24 members elected for four years. It meets twice a year, usually for six weeks at a winter session and for a shorter fall session. A third short spring or summer session also may be held. The assembly does not, at present, operate on a party system. Its members attempt to make decisions and provide advice to the executive council by consensus. The legislative assembly selects its speaker from among its members. A majority of the members of the legislative assembly are of aboriginal descent.

The executive council is the senior decision-making body of the government of the Northwest Territories. The commissioner continues to be the formal head of government. The legislative assembly nominates up to eight of its members to the executive council and chooses one as government leader and chairman of the executive council. Each elected executive council member is responsible for one or more departments of the Territorial government. Executive members are collectively responsible for decisions on policy and programs, for relations with federal and provincial governments and for the general conduct of the government in the Northwest Territories.

The federal Justice Minister is the Attorney General of Northwest Territories under the Criminal Code of Canada, with responsibility for criminal but not for civil matters or the constitution or organization of the courts. Law enforcement is provided by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

19.7 Local government

Local government in Canada comprises all government entities created by the provinces and territories to provide services that can be more effectively discharged through local control. Broadly speaking, local government services are identified in terms of their main functions: protection, transportation, environmental health, environmental development, health and welfare services, recreation, community services and education. Local government may also operate such facilities as public transit and the supply of electricity and gas. Education is normally administered separately from the other local functions.

Under the Constitution Act, 1867 local government was made a responsibility of the provincial legislatures, a responsibility extended to the territories when their governments were constituted in their present forms. The unit of local government, apart from the school board, is usually the municipality which is incorporated as a city, town, village, township or other designation. The powers and responsibilities of municipalities are delegated to them by statutes passed by their respective provincial or territorial legislatures.

An increasing number of special agencies or joint boards and commissions have been created to provide certain services for groups of municipalities. Local government revenue has been supplemented by provincial grants, either unconditional or for specific purposes. Certain functions traditionally assigned to local government have been assumed in whole or in part by the provinces. Besides encouraging the amalgamation of small units, the provinces have established new levels of local government to provide services which can be better discharged at a regional level. Second-tier local governments now cover the whole of British Columbia and much of Ontario. In Ouebec three regional governments have been established.

The major revenue source available to local government is the taxation of real property, supplemented by taxation of personal property, businesses and amusements. Revenue is also derived from licences, permits, rents, concessions, franchises, fines and surplus funds from municipal enterprises.

Newfoundland has 312 incorporated municipalities comprised of two cities, one metropolitan area, 169 towns and 140 communities. In